Tags

, , ,

Image

I’ve seen this tree too many times already on Facebook.  Don’t the smug mothers who post this realize that in order for their darling girls to be the “best (apples) at the top,” they are specifically saying that other girls are the “rotten” and “easy” apples.  Why are we teaching our girls to judge others?  Maybe those low hanging apples were abused or neglected as young girls or otherwise have low self-esteem.  Why can’t your daughter feel good about herself without feeling superior to other girls?

Thank goodness there are men out there who don’t mind picking up the rotten, easy apples, polishing them off, and making them feel as loved and deserving as the top picks.

Reading this, you might think that I have low self-esteem and so related to the easy apples.  Actually, I’ve been hard-to-get for some guys and too easy for others.  I’ve probably had a bit too much fun in the past, but don’t consider myself rotten.  I’ve been pursued by some wonderful guys when I was younger, and men when I was older.  I haven’t ever lacked for quality male attention.  So, my reaction to this popular post isn’t out of jealousy or anything similar.  It is because I believe that you can empower your daughter without putting others down.  She doesn’t need to be told she’s a top apple.  She can be told that everyone is very special in their own ways.  If you must explain certain “rotten” or “easy” behavior to her, then tell her the truth–that these girls probably hurt on the inside and that we should befriend them, not look down upon them.

