Tags

, , , , , , , ,

All I want is a damned thank you note!

Dear Parents,

Please teach your child to write thank you notes. I love your child. I spend a good deal of time trying to find just the right birthday or holiday gift and I’m pretty generous (not lavish, I can’t be). Sometimes I don’t even know if your child has received my gift. That makes me sad and very frustrated. But I don’t want to punish your child for his or her (our your!!) lack of manners. It is your job to teach your child gratitude and that includes thanking the giver!

And frankly, a five word text acknowledging receipt doesn’t cut it.

Am I the only one who wants to know the gift was received and appreciated? Am I too old fashioned? Should I just quit giving gifts? Do you, yourself, not know how to write a thank you note?

Here’s an easy-breezy cheat sheet: address the giver, state your thanks, say why you like the gift/when you might use the gift, offer a parting comment, then close the letter.

Here’s an example:

Dear Auntie Lovely,

Thank you so much for the cute tote bag and matching flip flops. Pink is my favorite color. I can’t wait to take these to camp this summer. I hope I see you soon.

Love,
Peanut

That’s all it would take to cheer up this gal.

Sincerely,

The Lilly-clad Goth Grinch

